The reason as to why anyone would want to delete his or her Facebook account is beyond my comprehension. This powerful social media platform allows one to keep in touch with friends and family with just a single click. However, some feel the constant updates, messages, pokes, likes and advertisements are just too much to handle, leave alone highly addictive.
The University of Winchester conducted a study in teens, reports Telegraph. The study participants were asked not to use Facebook for a period of four weeks. Many of them were no longer able to speak to friends and family. They said that they felt they are not part of the world.
That in simpler terms tells you how influential the site has become.
But if you no longer want the site to continue “bombarding” your life, there two things you can do. The first option is to deactivate the account which means your profile will no longer be available online but your data is saved on the servers just in case you decide to go back. Then second option is to permanently delete your account meaning no room for getting your data is availed.
Via 9 TO 5 Mac
How to Deactivate Facebook Account
Once you deactivate your account, it means you can get back to it at any time you want.
- Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
- Select Settings Click Security in the left column
- Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.
How to Permanently delete Facebook Account
If you decide to permanently delete your Facebook account, you cannot be able to reactivate or retrieve any information. Do take this action, please do so here.